stitch counting

A one-act opera based on four poems by e. e. cummings. 14 minutes. Music by Christopher Hossfeld. Orchestration: oboe, bass clarinet, piano, violin, cello, and singers. First performance during VI, A Night of Student Opera Premiers, November 1999, Harvard University; David Salvage, Music Director; sponsored by the Harvard-Radcliffe Contemporary Music Ensemble.


Download a pdf of the score (for study purposes only).

For performance rights and materials, please contact the composer by e-mail at

  • Man (tenor)
  • Woman (soprano)
  • Narrator (tenor)
  • Two Old Ladies, sometimes and always (mezzo-sopranos)
Plot Synopsis

1. now two old ladies sit peacefully knitting

Narrator, Two Old Ladies, Woman

2. may i feel said he

Narrator, Man, Woman

3. i like my body when it is with your

Narrator, Man

4. don’t get me wrong oblivion