Christopher Hossfeld fait preuve de technique adroite et de vaste connaissance musicale lorsque qu’il dirige chœurs et ensembles instrumentaux. Il a dirigé des concerts aux États-Unis et au Canada, et a préparé des chœurs pour les directeurs musicaux Trevor Pinnock et Michael Zaugg. Monsieur Hossfeld a été chef invité lors du concert des Cantata Singers intitulé « For the Fallen » en 2009. Il travaille actuellement avec la jeune compagnie d’opéra montréalaise Opera da Camera ainsi que l’ensemble vocal One Equall Musick, qu’il a fondé en 2011.

In Pace

Pour mezzo-soprano, chœur, et ensemble à vent d’époque (2 cornets à bouquin, 2 trombones baroque, dulcian) avec un poème de Robert Service. Première mondiale: 2 November 2014 avec Meagan Zantingh, mezzo-soprano, La Rose des Vents, et les Cantata Singers... Pour en savoir plus

Fantaisie en ut

Pour violoncelle seul, 10 minutes. Commandé par le Harbourfront Centre et le Toronto Music Garden, septembre 2013. Première mondiale réalisée par Kate Haynes au Toronto Music Garden avec la suite pour violoncelle en do majeur de J. S. Bach. Pour en savoir plus

Ave Regina Caelorum

Pour choeur (SATB) en latin, 6 minutes. Commandée par les Cantata Singers d’Ottawa. Première mondiale: les Cantata Singers d’Ottawa, Michael Zaugg, chef de choeur, concert Stabat Mater, 31 mars 2010, Christ Church Cathedral, Ottawa. Pour en savoir plus

International composer and conductor Christopher Hossfeld has an inventive compositional style and creates music for many settings, from concert works to music for liturgy or film. An established conductor, he has led both choral and instrumental ensembles with his precise conducting style and commanding knowledge of music. His music has been performed at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D. C., Yale and Harvard Universities, and the Longy School of Music in Cambridge, Massachusetts. He is Co-Artistic Director of Montreal’s Opera da Camera and founded the vocal ensemble One Equall Musick in 2011.

In Pace

For mezzo-soprano, choir, and historic wind quintet (2 cornets, 2 sackbuts, dulcian) on a poem by Robert Service. First performance: 2 November 2014 with Meagan Zantingh, mezzo-soprano, La Rose des Vents, and the Cantata Singers of... READ MORE

Fantasie in C

For solo cello, 10 minutes. Comissioned by Harbourfront Centre for the Toronto Music Garden, September 2013. First performance by Kate Haynes in the Toronto Music Garden. Written in response to the solo cello suite... READ MORE

Missa Brevis

For choir and organ, latin text, 15 minutes. Commissioned by the Church of St. John the Evangelist, Montreal in celebration of their 150th year. The first performance was on 20 November 2011. READ MORE

Ave Regina Caelorum

SATB chorus, latin text, 6 minutes. Commissioned by the Cantata Singers of Ottawa. First performance: The Cantata Singers of Ottawa, Michael Zaugg, conductor, Stabat Mater Concert, 31 March 2010, Christ Church Cathedral, Ottawa. READ MORE

concerto GROSSO

String orchestra (5, 4, 4, 3, 2), commissioned by A Far Cry, Boston’s self-conducted chamber orchestra, 20 minutes. First performance: 30 October 2009 at Jordan Hall, New England Conservatory, Boston, MA. READ MORE